All Topics / Help Needed! / Very Curious

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of p_macp_mac
    @p_mac

Hello everybody. I’m completely new to this very informative online community and to the world of investments and the like. I’ve been more and more interested within this investing realm and thus I’ve got a few questions…

Background:

I’m currently 20 years old (21 in about a month and hence the contemplation of what I will do with my life from here on…) and currently I’m in my third year in architecture (2 more years if I want my masters) and prior to that I graduated from a 2 year course of Diploma of Building Design and Technology. So I’ve got quite a bit of knowledge when it comes to design and construction (also working in a studio)…

I was contemplating on some options or I guess “ideas” regarding plans on how I can move forward. I was actually thinking of buying studio apartments in Melbourne (I live in the suburbs but go uni there) and renting them out. Any experienced Melbourne investors out there willing to give advice/guidance? I thought studio apartments would be an easier start compared to houses in the suburbs. What kind of returns could I expect? It seems like the target market are young professionals and university students – both local and international.

Currently, I’m playing around with the idea of finishing architecture after my third year and getting my bachelor’s degree instead of a master’s degree. And perhaps doing a diploma/bachelor in business and be a jack of all trades… Then go crazy towards my goal of the studio apartments strategy…??? Bearing in mind that I am also thinking of residing deep within the city so I can manage these studio apartments…

I don’t know, it was just a thought… Maybe I’m being naïve???

Any suggestions, advice, direction, critics, whatever will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Profile photo of propertypowerpropertypower
    @propertypower

hi p_mac,
    Welcome to the forum.