All Topics / General Property / The “Never Sell” exit strategy explained . . .

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of nvme8nvme8
    @nvme8

Hi All,

I am new to the game of IP's and have my first property being built now. I am motivated to increase my investment assets ASAP but would like to have more information about the "never sell" exit strategy. After all what good is loads of assets if you never turn them into cash? I have found this is a rarely discussed topic considering it's a means to turn an IP into the very thing that we all desire.

Can anyone fill me in regarding the detail of this strategy, ie re-finance and redraw a property every 7 to 10 years in order to fund a better lifestyle?

What are the tax implications of this strategy and is it better than selling one to pay off another?

Thanks for reading!

Profile photo of StumunroStumunro
    @stumunro

The reason why people don't like selling is that your profit is usually chewed in half by taxes. Buying and holding should see you have a generous positive cashflow income at anywhere between 3 – 10 years (in theory and depending on interest rates etc.) and alot of people build their wealth based on that. Re-Financing lets you free up any equity, BUT you then have to contend with higher interest payments because you have effectively borrowed that equity from the bank. By doing this though you can re-invest that equity into other investments which will increase your potential to gain capital growth :) A common investment strategy is to buy properties with large blocks of land, and when you gain enough equity, you can borrow the money to develop / subdivide the property. Sell half of it off and pay off your loans and then you have one property you own outright!! 

Profile photo of L.A AussieL.A Aussie
    @l.a-aussie