All Topics / Help Needed! / What name supposed to be on Tittle Deed, when IP was purchased with Company as trustee to a Trust

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of genkmlgenkml
    @genkml

Dear All,
    I got into a sticky situation when my accountant is preparing the tax return for my family trust, hope someone can shed some light.

I purchased my first Investment Property (IP) a few months ago, using a Family Trust structure and Company as the trustee. I thought everything was setup properly until my accountant pointed out that the Title Deed of the property only show "Company Pty Ltd", which could mean the IP  was bought by the Company instead of the Trust.

My Accountant insists that a proper Tittle Deed should have "Company Pty Ltd ATF Family Trust".
    The Solicitor who took care of the settlement insists that you can't put "ATF Family Trust" in the Title Deed and having "Company Pty Ltd" is sufficient.

I'm still learning all of the above, and obviously very concern because if the IP is owned by Company instead of the Trust, it will change my tax position significantly.

While my Accountant is arguing with the Solicitor, please help to clarify what name is supposed to be on the Title Deed of the IP.

Thanks

Profile photo of piratepirate
    @pirate

Hi Marc

So how would you go about taking the next step? assuming u cant find any cf + properties. do u just wait to see how quickly u can pay off ur existing ip so its cf + then buy the next one?

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

The title should read XYZ Pty Ltd ATF Smith Family Trust.

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

Profile photo of genkmlgenkml
    @genkml

Many thanks for the quick answer.
    Now, obviously my solicitor didn't do her job properly, what is required to have this changed in the Title Deeds? (or should it be changed?)
    Will it attract stamp duty?

Participant
    @qlds007