All Topics / Help Needed! / First property, now what ?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of BezBez
    Participant
    @bez

Hey guys, I have been paying off my first Investment property for 4 months now. Iv only been paying the minimum amount on the loan as iv had other things to buy and just havent had the money..
    My question is, where do I go from here ?
    Do I put as much money as I can spare into paying this one off or do I start saving for the next one ?
    It is negitave geared but not by much, is there any tricks to make it possitive geared other than increassing the rent ?

Details on my property are :-
    2Bedroom unit
    Purchase price – $125,000
    Loan remaining – $114,000
    Rent income – $310 a fortnight
    Loan repayments – $403 a fortnight

Any advice on helping me get the most out of this property would be greatly appriciated :)

Cheers…

Profile photo of dannadsdannads
    @dannads

Hey Bez,

Do you have an interest only loan on the property?  If you currently have a principal and interest loan, changing to interest only would decrease repayments and possibly move the property into the positive. 

Also, how old is the unit?  I am guessing it is reasonably old going by the price but you may still be able to depreciate some items to gain tax benefits that could also move the property into the positive. 

Although you asked for other methods beside increasing rent, this always means more money in your pocket.  It would be beneficial to increase the rent which can be achieved by presenting the property a little better, maybe by means of a new coat of paint, new handles on the cupboards, etc.  You can go crazy with renos if you like but even small changes can sometimes make the property alot more appealing which in turn can allow you to demand more rent and maybe move the property into a positive geared investment.

I hope this at least gets you thinking..

Cheers,

Profile photo of BezBez
    Participant