All Topics / Help Needed! / Perth property? Mandurah property? North West property? Where to start?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of NicoleKNicoleK
    @nicolek

Hi,

We are finally in a position where we can afford to buy another property (we have a house we rent out in Yanchep) but I am not sure what the wisest choice is. I have my final three ideas below after a lot of research. Can anybody help me out with the wisest choice? I am still new to investing as our property we rent out was our home before we moved north. Our main aim is to maximise tax benefits now. Later down the track (5-10years) we would like to be able to sell a property to pay for renovations on our Yanchep property .

1. I have been researching the Kewdale/Cloverdale area. It is relatively close to the city and you can still purchase a house on a large block for around the $400K mark. My idea is to rent it out now until we are in a position to demolish and develop two or three units on the site.

2. Mandurah has had a huge boom in the last few years however you can still purchase property around $300K and rent it out. My idea is that with public transport going through shortly there will be more and more people who will find Mandurah appealing for its lifestyle and access to the city. I think there is still growth there in certain suburbs even though the market has slowed. Again have also been looking at larger size blocks to maybe subdivide.

3. The property market in Karratha is booming and rentals are sky high. Property is expensive but the return is great. We were looking at loaning more money to get a higher return although I am a little nervous about loaning over half a mill.

Can anybody give me any advice? Much appreciated.

NicoleK

Profile photo of attrillattrill
    Participant
    @attrill