All Topics / Creative Investing / Onselling a contract for profit

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 28 total)
  • Profile photo of littleguylittleguy
    Participant
    @littleguy

Hi everyone,
    I'm fairly new to investing and I have a question regarding onselling of contracts.
    I'm negotiating a contract on a house at the moment and it looks like I could get a contract signed to buy at 180k or below. A qualified valuer has valued it at 210k as it is or 220k if it's tidied up and painted.

Since I have no money I'm hoping to sign the contract and then sell the contract to someone for say 15-20k (so there's still value in it for the next person).

Is this legal? (I'm in South Australia)

Anyone with experience in the area?

Thanks in advance

Chris

Profile photo of Jase and FlicJase and Flic
    Participant
    @jase-and-flic

Hi littleguy
    I don't know about SA, but in Vic you really cannot do it. The State Revenue Office would see it as 2 separate sales – 1 at 180k, and other at 195k. You would have to pay stamp duty on 180k, and the next buyer would pay stamp duty on 195k. This certainly takes the fun out of things

But if you call a local solicitor who is good with property, they will know the SA laws for sure. Maybe you will be lucky.
    Either way, you have bought at bargain price, so you should be able to find a profit in the deal somehow. Good luck

Profile photo of littleguylittleguy
    Participant
    @littleguy

Thanks Jase and Flic,
    Taxes sure are annoying aren't they. I thought that maybe if I sign the contract with my name "and/or nominee(s)" then the next person could be my nominee. I will take your advice and ask an expert.
    Cheers

Chris

Profile photo of fishmanfishman
    @fishman