Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Profile photo of BaspetBaspet
    Participant
    @baspet

I'm new to this so please excuse my ignorance.
    I'm thinking about renting out a house and have a few questions about rent.

1. How do I calculate a fair but reasonable rent?

2. What percentage of the cost of renovations can be added to the rent? e.g. if I install gas ducted heating at a cost of $3,500.

3. Is there a different system to calculate rent for a corporate body, e.g.(Bank, mining company etc.) compared to individuals?

Profile photo of GoldCoastGirlGoldCoastGirl
    @goldcoastgirl

I would work out what all my costs for the property (ALL costs incl. renovations, repairs, fees, rates, mortgage, etc) were for a whole year then divide that figure by 52 (52 weeks in a year).  Look at that figure and look at the market surrounding your IP… does that figure seem reasonable compared to similiar properties in your IP's region? 

That's the long and short of it. There are computer softward programs available "out there" that can help you with determining rent price etc.

As for what to charge an individual and/or a business entity… I wouldn't treat either different as in the end a HUMAN BEING will be living in the IP not "the business entity" .. if you get me.

Profile photo of BaspetBaspet
    Participant
    @baspet

Thanks alot for your enlightened view on rent. I mean with all your knowledge about IP's you must be a millionaire by now.
    I thought I put at the top of my forum question- EXCUSE MY IGNORANCE, so forgive me if I got the feeling you where being "smart".As for the individual vs business entity, the entity pays the rent NOT THE INDIVIDUAL!! if you get what I mean. I know for a fact that companies pay more to lease out a property, for staff that come to a rural town to work for the week. So please next time you feel the need to show people how smart you are why don't you audition for Big Brother!!

Participant
    @baspet

Goldcoast Girl