All Topics / General Property / Subterranean Termite From the Pest Report – Still proceed to buy the property ??

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of minglingmingling
    Participant
    @mingling

Dear All,

I am a novice investor and recently sign a contract -subject to pest and building report for a country property in Vic. Just received a pest report with subterranean termite.

Greatly appreciate your valuable feedback/experience and comment should I proceed to buy or exist from the contact.

my main concern is the high maintenance…

Being foreign investor with limit knowledge of local environement, it does make decision hard. greatly appreciate your help in sharing.

thanks and cheers !
    Ming

Profile photo of L.A AussieL.A Aussie
    @l.a-aussie

Depending on the severity of the termite damage, you could still proceed and negotiate a discount. Sometimes the building reports show up damage, but no evidence of termites still in the structure.

You would need to get a termite treatment done if you proceed in any case.

If in doubt; exit the contract and look for another deal of the century. There should be one in a few minutes.

Profile photo of millionsmillions
    Participant
    @millions

My friends PPOR has termites.  An addition on the house was a major factor which cost her about $10,000 to get rid of untreated pine used for extension.  The slab was actually below ground level also, which she left.  Her relative provided free labour also.  Causes her major stress.  She's spent heaps on pest control but can't eradicate them.  Whenever she goes away on holidays they infest house more.  I'd be talking to the pest and building inspector and ask their opinion before going ahead.

Profile photo of minglingmingling
    Participant
    @mingling

Dear L.A Aussie and Millions,