All Topics / Help Needed! / Mortgage Insurance

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of possumpalpossumpal
    @possumpal

Hi, i am new to this and just have a query,
    I know that if you lend less than 80% u don't need LMI. But is it true that some peoples loans get rejected not becasue the actually bank says NO, but because the LMI says NO. I was of the belief if the bank says yes and you had the money to pay then u would gain LMI without a prob.
    I know this dosn't make much sense but if someone could sheed some light on it i would be very greatfull.

Cheers
    Tim

Profile photo of raddlesraddles
    @raddles

Hi there

I note we recently had some difficulties with Mortgage Insurance.
    Did you know that a lender will normally require that Mortgage Insurance be paid – and that you as borrower only need to pay the premium if the LVR is more than 80% – if the percentage is less than amount then the Lender will often pay the mortgage insurance.
    This was spelled out in our credit loan documents and we too queried if our loan would be denied by the Lender if the insurer said No – it did annoy us that a third party – beyond our control – could regulate whether we did or did not get our loan.  Apparently it is not normally a problem – but it did worry us – so I can empathise with you – but most Lenders do require the protection and it is one of the conditions of your loan – and does have to be disclosed as a condition of providing credit to you.
    thanks
    Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi there

If the percentage is less than amount then the Lender will often pay the mortgage insurance.

This is not actually the case. There are ocassions where the loan is > 60% when the lender will require the borrower to meet the premium.