All Topics / General Property / Time to buy?

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of shanshanshanshan
    Participant
    @shanshan

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to property investing. I'm currently living at my parents house, earning a decent wage and have a fair bit of savings. I plan to move out next year. I live in Adelaide, and want to eventually live within 10 km of the city. Would it be beneficial to buy a place now say 3 bedroom small sized yard etc rent it out for a year then move in? If anyone is from Adelaide, im looking at the good part of Seaton area. Any thoughts?

I am not eligible for the new home owners grant. I would be looking to spend around $300 to $350k. I would anticipate rent to be about $300 – $330 a week based on current rents in the area. I understand the rent will not cover the loan repayments, but am hoping the capital growth will help with this as welkl as the other landlord expenses.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Profile photo of v8ghiav8ghia
    @v8ghia

Hi Shanshan. Sounds like a plan. There are quite a few on this forum that will be able to give you the guff on Adelaide, but if you can get into the market now, and have rent cover a good chunk of your payments, that is what it is all about. Adelaide does not sound like it is going backwards, in fact long term many feel it is great buying.   As for the time to buy, you may have heard the phrase ' The best time to buy is now and 10 years ago……'  Gives you something to think about. Don't rush into it, but don't over analyze either. Hey, all the best with your property.

Profile photo of shanshanshanshan
    Participant
    @shanshan

Thanks a lot for your advice. I was a bit over confident in my rent estimate. I think it is more like $275 a week for a property priced in the low 300's.

Anyone in Adelaide who can shed some light on the current market?

Thanks again

Profile photo of LandLand
    @land