All Topics / Help Needed! / My First property.

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of slapbass351slapbass351
    @slapbass351

Hi everyone, Just thought i’d introduce myself, My names Damon i’m 29 , single and live in the Booming Mackay.

I’m looking to buy my first home in the next couple of months, This property will be for me to live in and i’m going to have to have a tennant or two in to help with repayments.

My question is, Is there a good structure to help me with my first home and the sircumstances?

I’m living with my parents at the moment so i could rent it out for a while and stay here for say 6 to 12 months

I earn approx $42k a year and i’ll be looking to borrow about$300k-$340k as the average price of a 3 bed fixxer upper is in this price range, I’m a carpenter/Joiner by trade so i can do all the renovations at cost of material which i can get at a very good price from being in the trade and the marvelous ebay has many great deals.

I have $13k saved so with $7000 first home buyer will be $20k.

I’d also like to purchase more properties as soon as my finances allow me.

Has anyone been in the same situation or have any insightfull information on my first home? Any info would be much appreciated.

Regards Damon.

Profile photo of L.A AussieL.A Aussie
    @l.a-aussie

Hi Damon, welcome to the forum.

A good Mortgage Broker (there are few on this forum) can help with the correct loan structure; especially if you are going to keep investing long term.

As far as renting out/living in the I.P; you may do better if you can live in it for a while as your PPoR first then move out and rent it. This way, when you move out you can rent it for up to 6 years without incurring any cap gains tax if you decide to sell in the future. After 6 years you are liable for cgt, but it is pro-rated on how long you use it as an I.P.