All Topics / Finance / Confusion on the right strategy

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of StinkStink
    @stink

HI All,

I am only new to property investing and am ready financially to buy my first investment property. However i am getting confused on what the best strategy is. I am reading Anita Bell’s book at the moment and she seems to be of the opinion that you should go for P&I type loans to pay of investments. She says that IO loans are not the best choice because at the end of the loan term you still dont own the property. I understand that you would own the CG that the property has made over the loan period but that is it?

So i suppose the option is go the IO route and potentially grow my property portfolio over a shorter period of time.

Or go P&I route and maybe only look at 1 property but i would be paying more into that property.

She also seems against releasing equity to fund investments etc?

Please excuse my questions, i am just gettng very confused with all the different approach’s etc.

Our goal is simple i think. To buy solid investments that are either Positive cash or close to it, then as time goes on repeat the process to build wealth.

To give you a rough idea of our situation, we have about 100000 equity in a house valued at 450000. We have about $800 a month at the moment that we just waste.

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi there

No disrespect to Anita but she is not Licensed or qualified and whilst may have done quiet well to have paid off her loan many of us have done that without writing a book.

You certainly would not take out a loan of P & I nature if you still had a debt outstanding on your PPOR. My preference for clients is to structure an interest only loan secured against the PPOR linked to an offset account and then sit a LOC behind this.