All Topics / Creative Investing / Holiday/exec lettings

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of dbrannickdbrannick
    @dbrannick

Has anyone heard of or had any experience in renting investment property as short term holiday lettings?

I’ve looked at how much these properties rent for and I think the numbers stack up as long as the vacancy rate is low. I’m looking at buying one bed with a view close to the beach to kick it off.

I’m completely new to this with the exception of having read all of Steve’s books. Any thoughts or advice would be really appreciated.

Profile photo of raddlesraddles
    @raddles

HI there
    we have one property we self manage as a holiday letting and one that is with a management rights arrangement.
    The rental is usually a lot more than a permanent rental but the costs are also a lot more. You have to pay for cleaning, replacements of items – there is also a lot of wear and tear on furniture. You also can’t guarantee from one month to the next what the rental amount received will be. So if you are after a certain amount each month to pay a mortgage – the short term letting may not be the best option.
    With the property the subject of the managements rights arrangement – there was definately a quiet period over December/January – because it is not in a resort area. That didn’t worry us too much because it provided an opportunity to undertake maintenance of the unit.
    Like all properties – there are plusses and minuses but be aware with the smaller one bedroom places – it may be more difficult to obtain finance in such a way that you can loan say 95% of the value of the property. With smaller properties, the bank will normally lend you only 80% of the value of the property.

Profile photo of AUSPROPAUSPROP
    Participant
    @ausprop