All Topics / Help Needed! / Which form of Prop Investing? Reno or developing?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of kearnalkearnal
    @kearnal

I’m a newbie to this field having just read Steve’s books plus a few others I would like to get off to a good start. I aspire to be self employed and successful and I find prop investing as an interesting challenge that can help me reach my goal.

Initially I thought I’d concentrate in CF+ properties. Upon researching I see that this is still possible, yet in today’s market I feel you need to have prior experience and a trained eye to find these deals. I’m thinking baby steps, get the first few deals under my belt, learn as I go, before I start twisting taxes & crunching numbers to turn CF- into CF+.

A little background before I go on: My girlfriend and I plan to get married soonish but would like to try prop investing before we blow all our money on a wedding. We hope to have kids in 5 years, so that doesn’t leave us too long before we have to settle down a little. Banks say we can borrow between $440,000 & $500,000. We rent in Brisbane and hope to buy here.

So the plan: Buy, move in (claim 1st home grant), renovate & sell for profit. Do this 3 or 4 times to build equity, buy a nice place to start a family, put the investing on hold till the kids are older then get back into it later on.

This plan was shot down a bit when I listened to Steve’s webinar with Martin Ayles. Martin claimed for the time & effort this form of investing wasn’t worth it. He went on to talk about property development. This is one avenue I haven’t researched yet though I find it very interesting, but, do I have money to do this? Can anyone recommend someone who’s successful in this field (especially in Bris) that I can learn from? Property developing doesn’t sound like “baby-steps” – can someone with no prior knowledge in real estate dive in?

Any thoughts, arguments, advice into my position would be greatly appreciated!