All Topics / Help Needed! / All help appreciated.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of CompleksCompleks
    Participant
    @compleks

First time poster, so I appologise in advance for my ignorance [blink]

*I just realised how much I wrote. If you don’t have the time to read it all (I don’t blame you), I would still appreciate it if you skipped to summary at the end.*

I’m very new to the world of investing. I have so many questions to ask, that I’m not even sure where to begin.
    I guess I’ll start with some background info. on myself and go from there.

I’m 20 years old, and have only recently (over the past year) started to read. Long story short I have spent alot of time reading books on business, investing, motivation and the like. My bookshelf is filling up quite rapidly.
    I don’t have a ‘regular’ (9.to.5) job, and don’t ever plan on working one. I have plenty of spare time up my sleeves.
    As it stands, I have very little money in the bank, minimal income, and basically zero debt. I’m basically a blank canvas.

Anyway, I think it’s about time that I started to build my assets and get a head start on my financial future.

At this stage I don’t see property investing as something I could really dedicate myself to entirely. Don’t get me wrong, I’m willing to work and study hard, but I can’t see myself doing ‘this’ professionally.

I may be deluding myself (please let me know) but I would basically like to invest in property for a couple of reasons.
    – I think it would be a good learning experience
    – I would like the security of owning some properties, which would give me more freedom in pursuing my real goals
    – I would like some regular residual income

My problems are, I have absolutely no idea where to start. This is where I was hoping to get some input.
    What are the steps I should be taking to begin investing?
    Who should/can I speak to? I live in Melbourne
    How do I get started?