All Topics / Help Needed! / Student looking to start!

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of Invest88Invest88
    @invest88

Hi,

I am new to both this site and the world of property investing. I am a university student with about 13k in savings and I have little expenses. However I am not sure how to start investing in property as I also have no assets and thus a loan is pretty much out of the question… Does anyone have any suggestions on how I could get started?

Thanks.

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

If income or deposit are low but the other is high then there is usually an answer.

In your case you might be best to spend the moment learning and researching property.

Keep building your deposit.

When you have a decent income then buying your first property will be simple. I would suggest you consider buying a home for 6 months then move out and rent it. You will avoid SD and get a $7000 head start from the Federal Govt!

Plus you will have a CGT exemption.

You can rent some rooms out to mates to help with the repayments and building the deposit for number two!!

Cheers,

Simon Macks
    Residential and Commercial Finance Broker
    [email protected]
    0425 228 985

Comments may not be relevant to individual circumstances. If you intend making any investment, financial or taxation decision you should consult a professional adviser.

Profile photo of The ContrarianThe Contrarian
    @the-contrarian

Keep saving…
    Keep researching… read all the books you can on investing…
    Don’t worry about “missing the boat”…

Overtime you will learn that a true investor can make money in ANY market.

Just for now keep saving… into Bank West or ING is a good start…
    You’re in a great position… Keep it going…
    Enjoying getting richer every week.

Profile photo of picklesampicklesam
    Participant
    @picklesam