All Topics / Help Needed! / How to Determine Rent on a property

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of rg435rg435
    @rg435

Hi Investors

I am a newbie and a learner in this big world of investors, I have been watching forums on PropertyInvesting site as part of my research and I must compliment to Steve McKnight and to all of you for leaving such a wealth of information on these forums for people like myself who doesn’t have a clue about investing.

As a part of learning I am trying to find asnwers to couple of my following questions. I would really appreciate if I can get some help with these.

Q1. Once the property is found how do you determine what Rent should be charged in order to keep it Positive Cash Flow and to stay competitve with the market going rate?

Q2. During my research and readings I have discovered that it is widely suggested for first time investors to start small and in regional areas in order to find Positive Cash Flow properties. So I have followed the advise and hit regional but to my amasement what I see is the weatherboard houses from the era when Asbestos was commonly used, weatherboard doesn’t bother me but Asbestos does. Can I please get some suggestions and ideas, I feel I am looking in the wrong areas perhaps, how do I get past the issue of Asbestos?

I would like to thank in advance to investors who have taken time to reply to my post.

Good Luck and Happy Investing to you all :)

RG

Profile photo of leahwatleahwat
    @leahwat

Hi RG

Q.1 iff you want a 10% return say you buy a house for $200,000 the rent needs to be $400 a week.if house is $100 K then the rent needs to be $200 per week. Double it .

Q.2 If you are looking in areas where all the houses have asbestos then when the time comes to sell the purchasers will expect it so it’s not really an issue.

Asbestos is fine if you leave it alone.
    Having said that I wouldn’t but a house with an asbestos roof.