All Topics / Help Needed! / Renovating Block of 3 units – need info

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of TyRandleTyRandle
    @tyrandle

I’m looking to buy and renovate a block of 3 units.
    I’ve never done this before and wondering the pros and cons of this type of project.

A strategy I’m looking to use is, 3mth settlement early access, renovate and sell one at a time.
    Or
    Have a longer settlement with early access, renovate all at once then sell just after settlement.

If anyone has done a block of units, and if they don’t mind sharing their strategy (From buying through to selling)

I will be working with my best friend, we haven’t invested together before but we both offer different things to the team which will help.
    Any information would be great.
    Thanks
    Ty

Profile photo of celesteceleste
    Participant
    @celeste

Hi Ty

I am currently reno’ing a pair of duplexes, they have different settlement dates, one has settled, the other in a couple of weeks.(this settlement has been delayed because the tenant will not get out, so I have had to modify my plans a little)

My plan is
    – to start one gut and prep.
    – when the other settles gutt it ready for any modification – electical / plumbing etc so I can get them done whilst working in the other one.

My aim is to try a get things I do not do, done to both at the same time; to cut down tradies disruptions and trips.
    – all modification to elec, / plumbing
    – fences fixed
    – new carports
    Also, shopping for both at the same time – hopefully to get better discounts.

So basically work on both at the same time to a point and then finish off one, put it on the market and then finish off the other and put it on the market. I think you will get a better price if you stagger the sales – if you put all on the market at the same time, you have the same buyers.