All Topics / Help Needed! / Due Diligence, How much is enough? he!!!p

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of BeckBeck
    Participant
    @beck

Hi everyone! Good to be among like minded people!!!

Like the title states, as I am new to the game I would like to know Or how do you know when you have done enough due diligence about an area? What kind of key info should I seek to know well? Any tips and trick in the matter would be greatly appreciated.

Happy days,

Beck [lmao]

Profile photo of AmandaBSAmandaBS
    Participant
    @amandabs

Hi Beck and welcome to the PI Forum,

How much Due Diligence? You can never know enough!!

You need to understand at what stage the property cycle is at. By the time a “boom” hits the media, its often too late, the smart property investors have already scooped up most of the bargains. Beware that interest rates alone don’t explain trends in the property market.

As so many factors impact a property market its hard to give you a precise formulae however the following factors should be watched closely to give you a better chance of buying in the right place at the right time:

•Established area where a Developer is coming in and buying property.

•Re-development plans for a neglected district that will revitalise the retail district. (Urban Renewal Task Force OR Suburban Centre Improvement Projects)

•Population & Migration growth- more people there’s a greater demand for houses to live. (www.abs.gov.au)

•Major employers or industry moving to an area (i.e. Resources boom in WA). Jobs attract people.

•Infrastructure – Improvements to infrastructure, such as new/upgrading roads and railway lines can change the value of a suburb. This is usually associated with an initial boost when constructions commences and then again on completion.

•Social Changes – Lower birth rate and the ageing baby boomers retiring for a “sea change”