All Topics / Help Needed! / how big to start?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of heaths22heaths22
    @heaths22

Hi all, I am 28 and just recently married. We’ve had a my own home for a little over a year. My older sister and hubby are keen to invest in some type of property in the near future.
    My question is, it just seems to me that all the great deals seems to be on the bigger scale. Is it stupid for me to go big straight away (thats if any1 would even lend me the money!) or should I just start off doing little renos (im a plasterer by trade). Has anyone started big and if so how?
    thanks in advance
    Heath

Profile photo of westanwestan
    @westan

Hi heath

i ‘m a believer in start small, and i disagree all the good deals are big deals.

Look for something that you can buy below market, If you can improve it and add a lot more value then that will be great for you.
    By starting out small you will learn about the process etc. The idea is to make money and educate yourself, I’d encourage you to do a few smaller deals, first to work out what your doing,your strategy and what works etc. Are you buy and hold or buy and sell.

How Much $$$ , without a knowledge of your financial position i can’t say. But don’t get yourself into a difficult financial situation.

Evaluate your risks
    what if interest rates rise, property doesn’t sell etc.

all the best

regards westan

http://www.globalpropertydeals.com

[email protected]

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster

It sounds like you do not have much equity in your house you live in. The banks will lend you money based on your assets equity and what your income is. This will limit what you can start investing in.