All Topics / Value Adding / roof dilemma

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of lesleyklesleyk
    @lesleyk

I could use some advice about a roof. The property I am purchasing to renovate has an ugly , REALLY UGLY asbestos roof. I got 2 quotes today. One from a painter and one from a fellow who replaces asbestos with zincaloom. Painting will cost around $4000 and replacing will cost $8500.

I’m leaning towards replacing it as it means I can get rid of two old chimneys, the old solar HWS, and add skylights. None of which is possible with the asbestos roof.

Has anyone dealt with this sort of thing before? Will replacing it add more perceived value than it cost? I’m thinking so – asbestos is big put off for people.

I’d appreciate some feedback
    regards
    lesley

Profile photo of Linda AllenLinda Allen
    @linda-allen

Hi Lesley,
    I’m a real estate agent in Hornsby in Sydney and whenever I am trying to sell a house that has an asbestos roof, it’s always a nightmare. If you simply paint it, it will still come up in a building inspection and is likely to scare off potential buyers.

That said, asbestos is not dangerous unless it is deteriorating, dusty, broken etc, but the perception by the general public, particularly if the target market of your home (if you choose to sell) is first home buyers. Everyone wants to give them their 10c worth and it’s usually “don’t buy it!”

The regulations are in the middle of being changed as well and even small asbestos removal jobs will need to be done by licenced contractors. Guess what will happen when their services are in more demand. Their rates will go up!