All Topics / Help Needed! / New to market, should a buyers agent be used?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of KA010KA010
    Participant
    @ka010

Hi there,

Im new to the property market and am in the first stage of purchasing a house. I have read just about every book S McKnight has written and absolutely loved them! While surfing the net I came across the possibility of a buyers agent………..

My question is should I intend on investing in a buyers agent?? I personally feel confident when it comes to asking the nitty gritty questions when it comes to purchasing a house. My only concern is I dont have the first hand experience, something of which Im sure will come in time with the purchase of further Properties!

Should I use an agent for the first couple of buys?
    Should I use an agent long term?
    How much do buyers agents charge in Brisbane, QLD?

Cheers Mat

KA010 | Raw Profits Pty Ltd
    https://lawseo.com.au
    Phone Me

Profile photo of manofactionmanofaction
    @manofaction

Hi Mat,

Good that you have the courage to ask the question in the first place.

You see, many people make the basic mistake of thinking they are experts at everything simply because they can do somethings really well. It’s called false confidence… or sometimes “ego”.

The dilema you face is that you might have the foundations of being a master negotiator within you but either don’t know it yet or havent developed the skill.

Therefore, the property market might not be the best place to find out as mistakes can be costly ( but not necessarily catastrophic).

Remember, most of the people you will be negotiating with, the real estate agents, are seasoned professionals and can pick a green stick a mile away.

Having said that, it usually doesn’t take too much to effort to get the “average” agent working for you and actually helping you!