All Topics / Help Needed! / Novice Investor: First time property buyer

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of supagirl75supagirl75
    @supagirl75

Hi. I’m a young professional looking to enter the market in Sydney’s inner west. The property would be owner occupied. Is a unit or apartment for under $300 000 a smart investment? I would welcome any advice. [blush2]

Profile photo of richiefrichief
    @richief

Hi Supagirl.

Very broad question you have asked there. Probably the reason why no one has responded to you yet. You need to give more information, and do some more of your own research first.

* What suburb is the property in?
    * 1/2/3 bedroom???
    * What are other prices in the area doing?
    * Are you looking to renovate and resell for a profit?
    * Are you looking to rent it out for rental income? (most likley not if you are going to be owner/occupier)
    * Are you relying on growth in the area for your investment return?

Give some more details, then people may be able to help you. But to me, it looks like this is not an investment property, rather a home to live in.

Good luck.

Richard

Profile photo of SweetSweet
    @sweet

Hey thats a pretty wide question but definetly look for under that price range to start.

Refer to richief’s questions but my two cents worth is that ive heard any unit or apartment will have large gains only if it is in a 4 or less apartment complex as there is opportunity for capital gains down the track.

Then again, Im a beginner like you and looking to get my first deal done by beginning 2008!

Good luck

Profile photo of Steve McKnightSteve McKnight
    Keymaster
    @stevemcknight

Hi Supagirl75,

Thanks for your post. Welcome to the forum.

By ‘owner occupied’ I assume you mean live in…?

In that case what you are doing is making a lifestyle decision while trying to maximise the financial outcome.