All Topics / Help Needed! / how long did u wait before buying the next IP?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of suffragettesuffragette
    @suffragette

hi everyone
    i just bought my first IP, and am considering using my FHOG to buy my own place to live in for 6 months before renting it out. just wondering in general, how long did you guys wait before buying your second IP? at the moment i’m still learning as well, so i dont want to rush into buying the second IP. and there are still work that needs to be done with the first IP. So is it better to wait till that deal is settled before starting on a new one?

any advice, comments are greatly appreciated[thumbsupanim]

Profile photo of L.A AussieL.A Aussie
    @l.a-aussie
    Originally posted by yessy:

hi everyone
    i just bought my first IP, and am considering using my FHOG to buy my own place to live in for 6 months before renting it out. just wondering in general, how long did you guys wait before buying your second IP? at the moment i’m still learning as well, so i dont want to rush into buying the second IP. and there are still work that needs to be done with the first IP. So is it better to wait till that deal is settled before starting on a new one?

any advice, comments are greatly appreciated[thumbsupanim]

To compare your progress to others is not a good idea. It is not a competition and there will always be someone who is doing more, and doing it quicker than you. Set your own goal; your own pace.
    When I started, my goal was to buy one property every year for 10 years. I’m a bit ahead at the moment, but that can change.
    There are many factors to consider before you buy again.
    I would suggest getting educated on how to ‘crunch the numbers’ for the holding/purchasing costs/returns of an I.P.