All Topics / Finance / Strata Fees

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of petendeb64petendeb64
    @petendeb64

Hi everyone. This is my first time so be gentle with me.

I have a CP+ strata unit in a good area. Its a small block of 5 units close to everything. My problem is that the strata manager doesn’t apear to me to be doing a very good job, and there seems to be some connection between the strata manager and 2 of the owners, and they work together at our strata meetings. The strata managers fees seem quite high and they certainly don’t do anything extra to justify this; the sinking fund is quite healthy but the contributions to it increase each year also.

I have developed a plan to break this trio, change strata manager and reduce the sinking fund contribution, but I am baffled as to why the 2 owners would want to keep things the way they are and have thus far managed to resist all my efforts to change things. Does anyone have any ideas? If I can find some reasons for their behaviour it gives me more information with which to mount an attack.

[eh]

Profile photo of JohnSmithJohnSmith
    @johnsmith

I would suggest you find 3 local strata managers and ask one of them if you can get a copy of the rules etc. The regulations may give you something that will allow you to find out what is happening. Also find out how much they charge and what they provide for that – Only tell one of them your problem, as you want biased and unbiased information.

It is difficult to know how you went about this, but sometimes a simple upfront in your face question at the next meeting will give you the ammo to prove someone is incompetent.

For example – “The sinking fund is quite healthy but the contributions to it increase each year. Why is that?”

Now the answer may be something to do with “inline with CPI”, but that can be checked, and if not in line with CPI you can bring it up at the next meeting or already know that information.