All Topics / Help Needed! / Major work req on possible IP…is it worth it???

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of menteementee
    Participant
    @mentee

Hi all, there is a property that i’m interested to get for my PPOR, and then IP after the first year (yes gotta have that FHOG[happy3]), a little bit about the property, it sits on a generous land size (possiblility of dual occ), conveniently close to station and local shops. building size around 10×20
    The only problem now is since the building is 60+ years old, and never undergo reno, i can tell straight away that it will need
    1. re-stumping
    2. re-wiring
    3. bathroom makeover
    4. join up kitchen n loungerooms to get some space.
    5. Possible an extension to get another bedroom.
    Now, since i’m no expert in reno, will it be too difficult to manage all of the above by myself?
    Can i get a builder to quote on the job before i actually acuire the property? anyone can recommend one for inner melbourne area?
    and finally will it be too risky as i’m afraid the reno list will just keep on growing, and i have reached the end of my finance.
    Anyone wanted to share their first property purchase+reno
    Sorry for the long post, i just trying to give you all as much details as i can. Thank you in advance.Cheers

Profile photo of d_robb21d_robb21
    Participant
    @d_robb21

Wow, sounds like a pretty substantial project you’ve got on your hands, I’d say that you’re first step would be to set yourself a time/$ budget and work backwards from there.

Restumping can cost as much as $5000 (from memory)
    Rewiring can be quite expensive, budget for a couple grand depending on the quality of the board and existing wiring.
    Bathroom makeover can be as much as $10,000 for a full reno, less if you want a pure cosmetic freshen up.