All Topics / Help Needed! / first time investor

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of travisbristravisbris
    @travisbris

Hey everyone,
    Just thought i would say hi, long time lurker and first time poster.
    I’m looking to get into the market, in Brisbane obviously, and have spent many hours on realestate.com and the local papers.
    I’m 22, i Finish my first uni degree in 4 weeks (accounting), own my car and have paid my uni upfront. Earn 45k (approx) and have a 60K deposit.
    I bought steve’s book today so im just getting started. How did you guys get started in investing? Do you think i should split my deposit and buy 2 properties?
    Im still very new to this game and trying to absorb as much as possible.
    Many thanks for any responses.
    Travis

Profile photo of cbellesinicbellesini
    Participant
    @cbellesini

I think you should buy just the one to start with. It will depend on your strategy really what you do. If you neg gear you will only be able to get one, if you renovate this is a good deposit and money to improve the property or if you develop again a good deposit with money left to for development phase. Read Steve’s books first, his 3rd is due out next month so that should be great timing for you to see the latest strategies and formulas Steve uses himself!

http://www.chrisbellesini.com

Profile photo of XeniaXenia
    @xenia

Hi Travis, I hope you meant “looking” not lurking!!!

The idea is to make your deposit buy you as many properties as you can afford to service [biggrin]

Investment Property Management
    http://www.adprop.com.au

Profile photo of Ol PaintingOl Painting
    @ol-painting

Wait till you finish the book and start from one IP. [evo]

Start looking for the properties on the market as soon as possible.
    Take some time before buying to learn the performance of different areas, and all sales agent selling tricks (yes, they will actually try to sell you a property [evo]