All Topics / Help Needed! / Nearly out of uni – Time to join the game!

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of dj_siekdj_siek
    @dj_siek

HI All!!

Great site.

I am in my final semester of uni and am currently in the midst of getting a job. Giong well so far:)

Just wanted to know a few things. I really want to get into the market as i feel the longer i wait – the more time i waste.

UPon looking at the amount of interest you pay over even a ten year period is so scary. IT puts me off. Even if you were to get 100k increase in value on ur house… after 10 years (on 300k) you have already paid 155k interest!!!

What if i purchased my first little apartment clsoe to the city somewhere. and sold it after 2 – 3 years (depending on market). Pay the loan off i would have only spent about 30k on intereest minimum.

Surely there are ways u can sell your first home quickly to reape the profit give the government what they want (lots of money) and keep giong.

If only it was simple – what do you think?
    Cheers

Joel

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster

Joel, You need to look at what you are trying to achieve. It sounds like you want to live in the house you are planning on buying. In this case you are right that the interest paid is money lost. The upside is that this would be a`PPOR (Primary place of residence) which allows an exemption from capital gains tax if you managed to acheive a capital gain. What you also need to compare is what it costs to rent a place and the fact that you do not experience a gain in capital as you do not own it.