All Topics / Finance / Getting interest only loan on PPOR ?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of Luke TaylorLuke Taylor
    Participant
    @world-changer

Hey Guys!
    I have very little experience with PPOR s as i have never owned one.

I have a family friend who needs help.I am still getting some of the finer details from my friends daughter(who is OS till 2 weeks time) who actually owns the house, but i I told him i am confident i would be able to find someone who could help with a re fi.

Here is the story.
    My friends daughter bought a house for around $450k with $100 K of her own money.
    Now the house is worth around $560K
    She owes around $300 on it now
    She is on a PPOR P/I loan currently.
    The girl hasnt got a job currently as has been travelling the world for the past year or 2).
    When she does work though she earns big money (as an actress )

But here is the twist.
    Her parents(our friends) went bankrupt about 10years ago so she
    bought this house and the parents have been livng in it and paying the mortgage while she is OS.(they are now out of bankruptcy)
    But, She is thinking about wanting to get out of the house some how when she gets back and buy elsewhere
    So,her parents would like to try buy it from her but they are battling
    with paying the Principle and interest payments now (i believe approx $2600 p/m)so are wondering if they can go to Interest only.
    They dont have any other money or deposit either.

I suggested the daughter possibly leave some money in the deal herself &/or doing a wrap deal for her parents .

The other issue is she has kept the property as her PPOR (as its her parents who are living there)and pays the rates etc out of her account so if she ever needed to sell she wouldnt need to pay CG tax.
    i realise if it was an investment property it is easy to re fi to Interest only but what about PPOR s?