All Topics / Legal & Accounting / What questions to ask an accountant?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of tktingtkting
    @tkting

Hi everyone,

I am currently shopping for an accountant and will be ‘interviewing’ some this week.

As I have never used accountant services before I don’t really know what information I should be looking to get.

Would anyone kindly provide some pointers on what questions I should be asking?

My objectives for getting accountant services:
    1. Advice on a suitable structure for property investment and possibly company/trust incorporation
    2. Tax returns

Thanx in advance,
    TK

Profile photo of sam2009856sam2009856
    @sam2009856

Hi there tkting

Thats a smart move and ive been thinking the same.

I purchased a number of IP in the past 12 months and i regret some things I did because I should have consulted an Accountant first esp for setting up Trusts ect.

It is one of the most important factors with investing to have a wizard accountant. Taxes are one of our biggest expenses, thats for sure.

Profile photo of tony wpbtony wpb
    @tony-wpb

Hi tkting,

Very smart move, if you are just starting out , many investors look back and only wish they began with the right advice.

Some good questions are:

Have they invested themselves ?

If yes.Ask for specifics.

Were they successful?

What are there personal beliefs of property? (negativity is not going to help you)

Ask about hybrid trust structures versus a discretionary trust.

Do they have many clients that invest in property?( this will also reflect their understanding)

Do they encourage their clients to invest in property ?

Are they proactive or reactive? (do they just look at what you have done and try to tidy it up at the end of the financial year or do they make suggestions to help improve your circumstances)

I would suggest not to concern yourself with their fees and determine their ‘value’ by how much can they help you. Good Luck