All Topics / Help Needed! / Youngin’ Starting out.

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 37 total)
  • Profile photo of DraconisVDraconisV
    Participant
    @draconisv

Hey guys, its my first post, please bear with me.

I’ll tell you my current situation.

I am currently in my final year at high school and am looking at doing a business/commerce/economics sort of course at uni. I have just finished paying of my car. And I will probably need to have a fee paying course as my UAI might be to low for the course. which means i will have to pay for my 15000-19000 fees each year for 3 years. My parents are nice and are willing to help me with that.

I have bought many investing books lately, most focusing on property investment.

When I have been paying off my car it has been a constant $400 taken out of my account by my mum. And I havent even noticed it leave each month. So saving 100 dollars a week now is easy.

I would like to get into property and am looking at around the 250,000 mark. How would I go getting finance. As I have no security(would my car count), I am not 18 yet(though 11 days and i will). How much deposit would I need to save. and what income would I need to satisfy the bank people to let me borrow for the 250,000 home.

I’m sorry if this is like a life story to you guys. I’m jsut giving you lots of info, which i hope will help in you helping me.

Can’t wait for your replies.

Profile photo of SweetSweet
    @sweet

Hey im a beginner like u, im in first year at uni doing a law/commerce degree (commerce is driving me insane, but thats another subject!)

Well what ive gathered over reading a lot of posts on this forum and countless books along with a few seminars, is its usual for a deposit to be about 10% but then theres all the other costs needed to get you going (tax, maintenance, starting costs, etc.) That will probably inflate the deposit by a few more thousand.