All Topics / Legal & Accounting / What do you want in your accountant?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of trajiktrajik
    @trajik

I am an accountant/tax agent having worked in public practice for a few years and wanting to go out on my own for various reasons, least of all to be able to service smaller clients better than most firms seem to be doing. One area that I would like to target is investors, especially property investors as there are many more opportunities for property investors to influence their investment and the tax impacts on their investment. What I am asking is;

What do you want from your accountant? What do you expect?

any contributions are appreciated.

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

Hi Trajik,

A great question – for me the following (in no particular order)

1. My aco<edited>ant is a property investor too. If he/she looks after his/her interests it means I’ll get some of that too.
    2. An accountant who has an intimate knowledge of tax as it applies to me – in this case as an investor.
    3. Someone who will coontinue to serve me and not ‘flick’ me onto one of the office ‘lackies’
    4. Someone who is proactive and will say you cannot claim this now or here or……..but if you were to do this, this and this then the item becomes claimable.
    5. Someone who has a good knowledge of trust and company issues as they apply to investors.
    6. Someone who responds to simple enquiries without the need to bill for every minute taken – service first. Obviously if the matter is more complex it is reasonable to expect an invoice of some description.
    7. At the end of the day I want to know that my accountant knows – and I am prepared to pay for good service.

Cheers

Derek
    [email protected]
    http://www.mononpoly.tic.com.au
    0409 882 958
    Skype – derekjones2113

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

Ooops – it looks like I had a typo in the first line and the auto editor kicked in.[bigeyes]