All Topics / Help Needed! / Right time to invest, Interest rate rise ?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of jazzboy323jazzboy323
    @jazzboy323

Hi, I am a newbie to IP. is it the right time to invest now in Brisbane or wait for couple of months ? I have found a good IP in an good area but stuggling make a buy decision. I have read some articles stating that the interest rate might rise to 10% within next 2 years. My goal is to keep an IP (townouse) for at least 5 years and sell it for capital gain. [blink] Any opinions is appreciated thx .,,

Profile photo of DDDD
    @dd

Firstly Jazzboy welcome to investing. The sometimes bumpy, sometimes smooth rollercoaster we all have a go at.

With interest rates looking to be certain to rise if you believe the media hype, we are all looking to again tighten the already near to breaking point belts of ours. However, with investing this could do one of two things, stimulate those nervous nellies to get the splinters out of their collecive bums and finally do something, or for those butterfly type investors to panic sell a few choice properties from time to time as they head for the hills or look to shares again.

I strongly believe that property is the smartest way to increase your bottom line over time.

Historically, property doubles in value every 7 to 10 years worldwide for the last 200 years. This means that anything bought now will be worth twice as much if you hold on and manage your investments correctly. There are odd pockets that buck the trend, but with such a high percentage of even mums and dads investing these days those pockets are getting fewer and harder to find.