All Topics / General Property / Advice Requested: Small Rooms, Internal Bathroom

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of parismyloveparismylove
    @parismylove

Hi All

I am new to the property game and looking for my first property (owner occupier).

I have found something I think is at a reasonable price.

A few things are bothering me though and I would appreciate advice from those more experienced.

Each bedrom is quite small (7sqm and 5.6sqm). One will be used for a study. Am I being unrealistic about making good use of these rooms, are they too small to the point of affecting my own liveability, rental returns in future, resale returns in future?

The bathroom is an internal bathroom – no windows. It has some sort of small extractor fan that doesnt seem to be working. Do internal bathrooms cause problems over the long term in terms of moisture? Are there any ventilation options that can be added.

One final question, the unit has a very small outside area with plants. Is there anything creative that can be done with this space. I thought of putting grass and a table and chair.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Paris

Profile photo of depreciatordepreciator
    @depreciator

5.6sqm is pretty tiny. I’m presuming both rooms have built-ins?
    Seems to me that you think the rooms are pretty small. Future buyers and renters will no doubt have the same misgivings.
    Internal bathrooms can be fine (but not ideal) if the exhasut fan works okay. They still get a bit clammy if there is more than one person using them i.e. if there are several showers per day happening in them. Most hotel bathrooms are internal.

Tax Depreciation Schedules
    Australia wide service
    1300 660033
    [email protected]
    http://www.depreciator.com.au

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

Grass = Lawnmower

Is there storage for it?