All Topics / Help Needed! / What am I missing

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of islandgirlislandgirl
    @islandgirl

I’ve just come across a property in a rural agricultural area – 3b/r house valued at $50K . Agent tells me rental is $120 per week. I was concerned the market may be seasonal however she tells me she could get the contract with a 12 month rental clause in there.

I can’t see any pitfalls except for the fact that it might be near impossible for me to get to it to inspect (7 hrs drive).

I assume for a small town (pop 500) that the capital growth might not be crash hot but we are not talking a hugh investment here.. Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated as I’m a complete novice.[blink]

Profile photo of swerveswerve
    Participant
    @swerve

Hi Islandgirl. I would get a pre purchase building and timber pest report on the building. Ask the agent for names of consultants if you are stuck and ring the consultant prior to going out to make them aware that you have not seen the property. Can they send you a report with numerous photos. Afterwards ring the consultant to clarify the more important immediate works which may need doing and those that can be priced into a maintenance program.

Also arrange a valuation for reinforcement that the property price is in the ballpark. As for the 12 month lease, it is better than nothing but nothing is guaranteed.

Good luck. [thumbsupanim]

Profile photo of crushercrusher
    Participant
    @crusher

Hi Island Girl,

First add all of these costs to your purchase price (If you aren’t borrowing any money then leave out the mortgage related costs)-

stamp duty on a property purchase
    stamp duty on a mortgage
    registration fee on a property purchase
    registration fee on a mortgage
    title search fee
    solicitors/conveyancers fee
    building/pest inspections & surveys
    loan application fee
    lenders mortgage insurance (LMI)