All Topics / Help Needed! / House&Land pkg/Existing property…which is better

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Profile photo of dedfreddedfred
    @dedfred

Hello,

I’m new in the Investment Property game and have a dilemma. I’m not sure if it’s better to buy a brand new home (house&land) or go for a youngish property. I’ve been told I’ll save on the stamp duty with the 1st option. But when I look at stats that I’ve obtained from Residex the amt asking for new properties are a good 20-30K higher. That to me doesn’t sound right which is why I’m leaning towards existing properties in decent location. Any thoughts please.

Also, I c there a post about DHA properties with their pro & cons…I would like to get some options on agents such as OzInvest who offer a lease back options which seems very attractive. From my investigation with price comparison they seem to fair pretty well. Has anyone else used their services????

Cheers [smiling]

Profile photo of red_roguered_rogue
    @red_rogue

The other benefits you usually get with a H&L package are warranties on the house (often 5 years or more builders warranty on the structure and 6 months on fixtures and fittings). The only other mob, besides Ozinvest that I know of are Kaizen Property Sales. Both are pretty decent in their dealings with investors and usually give you a good deal (surprising to hear it’s prices 30k over existing houses).

Profile photo of dedfreddedfred
    @dedfred

Thanks for that…the 30K I mentioned was the difference in price between and 1-2 year old property and an H&L package. With OzInvest I’ve found there’s not much difference with their prices with other H&L pkg’s out in the market, in fact they were a bit under in some cases. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Are there any other comments out there that I can assist me with this decision?

Cheers [goatee]

Profile photo of RealEstateQueenRealEstateQueen
    @realestatequeen