All Topics / Forum Frolic / When interest rates get too high…

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of Fast LaneFast Lane
    @fast-lane

Feeling the pinch of the ever increasing cost of living?
    Never fear, as long as a Supermarket is near…

By Bridie Smith, Consumer Affairs Reporter
    The Age February 18, 2006

PAUL Martin likes to do a big grocery shop — the kind that fills a supermarket trolley to the brim — about once a fortnight.

The shop always takes place after dark. It costs him nothing, except the time he spends rummaging through the supermarket skip with his flatmate.

Part of a growing number of “skip dippers”, Mr Martin, 29, is a consultant from inner-suburban Melbourne who has been getting his food — and more — from commercial skips for the past five years.

“The reason I do it is nothing to do with cost; I’m a well-paid consultant,” he said. “But by doing this, I help to reduce waste and landfill.”

Mr Martin, a chef by training, says he eats well from the skip, stocking up on everything from bread, fruit and vegetables, tinned produce, rice crackers, wine, beer and juices. He has even acquired cooking utensils on his fortnightly shop.

“It makes no sense that this perfectly good food is thrown out, it’s so wasteful,” he said.

Another regular skip dipper who wished not to be identified said the “dipper” community was so strong in Melbourne that sometimes swap-meet picnics were organised for people to exchange goods.

“A lot of the time you get things in large quantities, so by swapping things, you get a bit of everything,” she said.

According to The Australia Institute, a Canberra-based public policy think tank, a growing number of people are skip dipping.

A research paper released today found skip-dippers were well-educated professionals with an anti-consumer or environmental bent.