All Topics / Help Needed! / Market Sentiment

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of The PupsThe Pups
    @the-pups

Hi everyone

I am currently reading Steve’s book “$1mil in property in 1yr” and have just completed Part 3 that deals with market sentiment and the indicators to look for when taking a market position.

My question is with regards to these indicators (eg: auction clearance rates, interest rates, building approvals, media reports, and talking to others). The interest rates and media reports are obvious and readily available but, being a beginner, i dont know where to find the info regarding auction clearance rates and building approvals. Can someone help me with this please?

Also, can i get this information for a specific region / town or is it for larger areas? And if this info is available for specific regional centres / towns, is it relevant?

Also, where specific regional centres / towns are concerned, it seems that obvious people to talk to about real estate trends would be locals. If i am looking to buy out of my area, and dont know any locals, who would i speak to? What would i look for in the “ideal local” to talk to about market sentiment in their town?

Any other suggestions on what people use as indicators of market sentiment would also be welcomed! [biggrin]

Thanks!!

Daniel & Belinda
    AKA “The Pups”

Profile photo of Fast LaneFast Lane
    @fast-lane

Hey Pups, great post.

Clearance rates are listed in the API magazine each issue for the preceeding 6 months. In the Jan issue they’re on page 75. They do just metro areas as clearance rates in regional areas aren’t too much of an indicator because they’re not as prevalent in the city.

Any significant movement in building approvals and interest rates always finds it’s way into the news. Check newspapers and the internet and just keep your eyes peeled.