All Topics / Help Needed! / Building townhouses…should we steer clear?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of KB1975KB1975
    @kb1975

My partner and i have been hunting for our first home for many years. Recently my partner suggested the idea that we build three townhouses/units. Live in one and rent out or sell the remaining. As first home buyers we have no experience in the industry and that bothers me. Modern townhouses in the area we are considering, are a rare find and the ones avaiable are currently selling /tenanted for decent money, so I think the area would be right. We are happy to continue renting for as long as it takes and I am confident we could get the additional finance for the project.
    I guess we would start with finding a block and investigating the local regulations.
    What do you all think…? Should we tackle this “townhouse” idea or should just buy first house and look at bigger plans like building townhouses later?

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

Hi KB,

For me I would suggets that you start with something a little more standard as your entry into the housing market. This will give you a great opportunity to learn some of the ins and outs of property investment in the beginning. Issues such as tax, finance, structuring, property management, insurance, and so on are all learning experiences in themselves.

Developing is a niche strategy that has a number of other ins and outs to be learned along the way.

Like everything it has its own benefits but also its own unique pitfalls. Sure the ‘profits’ are attractive but many a would be developer has gone belly up due to a raft of reasons, largely due to inexperience.

Developing is a huge first step to take. But then others may well disagree.

Derek
    [email protected]
    http://www.pis.theinvestorsclub.com.au
    0409 882 958

Profile photo of johnno2johnno2
    @johnno2

hi kb1975