All Topics / Overseas Deals / Student acommodation

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of wazlwazl
    @wazl

Any comments on “student accommodation” in the Auckland Central area. That is, studios. The rental return appears to be very good, better than normal.

I’m just starting out and trying to overcome the fear factor, so any advice is appreciated
    :-)

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

Waz,

This is a high risk area.

These studios are being marketed to Australians with all sorts of promises of high returns and strong student demand.

The truth is that there is an oversupply of them in Auckland and in addition there are less international students studying in Auckland.

Do some searches of this site for some stories on this. Some experts believe there will be a dramatic price fall in the smaller apartments in Auckland soon.

All the best and don’t be discouraged. Perhaps you need to investigate what most investors are after and then the demand will always be there.

Cheers,

Simon Macks
    Residential and Commercial Finance Broker
    ***NODOC @ 7.15% to 70% LVR***
    [email protected]
    0425 228 985

Comments may not be relevant to individual circumstances. If you intend making any investment, financial or taxation decision you should consult a professional adviser.

Profile photo of Nigel KibelNigel Kibel
    Participant
    @nigel-kibel

These and the apartment market in Auckland is likely to crash. Do not waste your money on second rate products. Most of these properties are owned by Australian investors. The New Zealanders have more sense. I recently purchased a house that had been divided into to flats returniing nearly 8%. The property will also have far more capital growth than student accommodation n Auckland

Nigel Kibel

http://www.propertyknowhow.com.au

Australian and New Zealand The United States Property Researcher and education