All Topics / Overseas Deals / NZ Interest rates

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of westanwestan
    @westan

Hi Guys

i know i’ve been saying this for 12 months but i think i should say it again.

Those of you who own properties in NZ or who are planning to buy in NZ need to look at Fixing your interest rates.

The variable (or floating rate) is now 9% (9.3% for westpac) however the Fixed rate is still an attractive 7.6% at the major banks for 5 years and 7.9% for 3 years.

In the short term the Reserve bank expects to continue to lift interest rates, but who know whats going to happen in 12 months time?

Regards westan

Properties in the USA 15-25% returns- email to join our database [email protected]

Profile photo of Nigel KibelNigel Kibel
    Participant
    @nigel-kibel

It is a little like Australia in the late 80s. Governments do not realise that you can damage an economy by continueing to lift rates. Although most people fix there rates many according to a broker I know has stated that many will shortly be coming off lower fixed rates. I hope that the reserve bank does not keep on tightening rates. They should be offering more incentives to save.

Nigel Kibel

http://www.propertyknowhow.com.au

Australian and New Zealand Property Researcher and education
    One Day property investment research workshop just $290 Melb 26 November

Nigel Kibel | Property Know How
    http://propertyknowhow.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

We have just launched a new website join our membership today

Profile photo of foundationfoundation
    @foundation

… yuh? Higher interest rates DO provide incentive to save. They also discourage malinvestment which often leads to unsustainable asset price bubbles.

I agree with westan. I also still suggest that investors in Oz may be prudent to at least consider the same.
    Cheers, F.[cowboy2]

Participant
    @nigel-kibel