All Topics / Help Needed! / advise needed

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of Dr.SpockDr.Spock
    Participant
    @dr-spock

Hi everyone this is my very first time on the forum, Have read both Steve’s books over and over agian, (I surpose I’m one of those people to scared to do anything incase its the wrong thing). I need advise here is my situation. I want to get an investment property but like most people have debt. Savings $7,000.00 but still have a credit card owing $3,500.00, a personal loan $13,000.00 that we are paying $50.00 more a fortnight, And I have a car that is 1 yr old, (still owe $24,000.00) that I’m quiet happy to get rid of it if need be, I have my brothers car with us at the moment that is very reliable he’s moved over to WA and I’m just looking after it until he wants it. I’m sure if I asked he would let me have it for about a year. My husband has a new car as well but his business pays for that (however its still in both names)Don’t have a house of our own (renting).Fortnightly we can manager to save between $300.00 to $500.00 depending on work as I’m studying at the moment as well. Can someone advise what we should do, so we can start our dream of getting an investment property and become financial independant.

Thanks everyone

[blush2]

regards Trish

P.Stickels

Profile photo of ShwingShwing
    Participant
    @shwing

Hi Trish,

I think you already have a pretty good idea of what you need to do, you just feel like you need the reassurance that what you think is right.

You sound like my wife. I never did understand why she saved money, and had it sitting there earning interest, and have personal debt being charged upto 4 times the interest that she was getting on the savings. – her answer – she was tying to establish a savings history. – my response – but you’ve got a personal loan that you are proving that you are capable of paying off.