All Topics / Help Needed! / What would you do with $250K??

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of chevy_no10chevy_no10
    Participant
    @chevy_no10

Hi everyone,

I’m a newbie and whilst I’ve read Steve’s books I’m only starting to read up on information in these forums (there’s SO MUCH TO COVER!).

I recently inherited $250K and want to invest it in property. I have a low income of $45K, never bought property before and would like to hear your ideas on how YOU would choose to invest all this money.

This may be too basic to answer for most of you but I have to start somehwere right?

Look forward to reading all your past posts…

Chevy

Profile photo of hellmanhellman
    @hellman

Well there are really two options in my opinon, you can either invest in or if you think you can beat the return invest yourself.

I would invest all the money, earn 12% and retire in 5yrs (for those 5yrs you would not be able to touch the money). You would be then on an income of $47K and if you decided to continue to work you would be on $92K.

Hellman

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek
    Originally posted by chevy_no10:

I recently inherited $250K and want to invest it in property. I have a low income of $45K, never bought property before and would like to hear your ideas on how YOU would choose to invest all this money.

Hi Chevy,

For me the critical issue is to take some time and explore all the options available to you. Not only do you have to address issues relating to your preferred asset class/es, you also have to consider growth V income or parts thereor, your age, life options and preferences and so on.

My advice is to put it in a six month fixed term account and spend the time learning, learning, learning. Discuss the options with experts in their respective fields and then sort oout what you want.