All Topics / Help Needed! / To privately manage prop. or use agent?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of SpinksySpinksy
    @spinksy

Hi everyone, I am going to be renting out my house in the next 1-2 months. I am still undecided on whether I am going to manage the property privately or have an agent manage the property.

I would be interested to hear of the experiences people have had on the forum with both managing a property privately and also good/bad experiences of having the property managed by an agent (also recomendations if possible)

The property is a 3 x 1 in Marangaroo, (perth, northern suburbs) At the moment I am leaning towards having an agent manage the property as it seems a safer option (albeit more exxy) as I have never done this kind of thing before

Im sure this topic must have been covered before but I haven’t been able to find much, so if you can point me to a previous thread that covers the topic, go ahead.

Thanks for any help,

Profile photo of WylieWylie
    @wylie

We have never paid an agent, have had only one really bad experience where we lost about $1000. Tenant damaged some VJ walls, luckily had insurance and the $1000 was insurance excess plus rent not paid in final weeks.

However, we have always owned IPs in the same or nearby suburbs and can be very hands on with vetting prospective tenants and organising plumbers, etc if required, or doing minor repairs ourselves.

However, if you are moving away, it may be best to have an agent.

Wylie

Profile photo of XeniaXenia
    @xenia

we manage all our properties (except overseas ones). I personally like to have a good relationship with my tenants. also I find that I could rent them out quicker and for a greater amount than an agent!!!!! Never quite figured out why.

agents have cost us too much money in the past, so now we try to aviod them.