All Topics / Opinionated! / Sponsoring a Child

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Profile photo of Lawry73Lawry73
    @lawry73

Most of us on this forum are driven to create wealth. What about sharing with those less fortunate ones?

I have been sponsoring a child through Compassion for over 2 years and I think it’s one of the many ways to share with others.

I’d like to encourage you to share what you have in a consistent manner and I believe seeing a child grows up with the opportunities you have provided brings great satisfaction.

http://www.compassion.com.au or any other organisations.

Profile photo of Esther TanEsther Tan
    Participant
    @thewizard

I have a sponsor child too in Uganda. Also through Compassion. She’s 8 yrs old. I’ve had her for 2 years now.

It’s amazing how a little bit of money from the western world can make such a big difference to other people’s lives which we take for granted like bread and water.

One reason why I sponsored a child was to have a balanced attitude to money, to be able to give it away to worthy causes and not become very self centred and tight caught up in my journey for financial freedom. Of course you have to look at your budget and not over stretch yourself but it’s good to make room for charity.

Profile photo of XeniaXenia
    @xenia

we had been sponsoring a boy from africa for 4 years, through world vision. i have been thinking of adding another one this year for my daughters 2nd birthday.

we have this problem with relatives being adicted to buying our kids lots of plastic crap for their birthdays and christmas, every year we request “no presents” on birhday invites and every year we get more plastic crap. I dont mean to sound ungrateful, I just hate the clutter, our kids have more than enough of what they need and anything extra is just clutter (yes we do give most of it away to charaties!!)