All Topics / General Property / Baker finally learns how to get his dough right.

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of The Wild OneThe Wild One
    @the-wild-one

Hello I’m John

I’m a 42 year old Baker on a low to medium income and Married with two teenage kids.
    A couple of months ago I just purchased my 7th. Property.
    Some readers on the forum have ask me how did I get to where I am now . Well here is my story and I’ll try and keep it short.

When I was a single fella back in 1983 I bought a block of land in Rosebud Victoria for $8,000. Twelve months later I sold that block for $13,500 and bought a real nice car. This was my first mistake. I kept that XD Falcon for about fifteen years and sold it to the wreckers for $450 bucks.
    The reason why I’m telling you this is because when I got rid of my XD, my old block of land was worth about $90,000. So if I had of kept my land I would have $90k instead of $450, I still shake my head to this day.

My wife and I move to Daisy Hill in Queensland in 1987 and bought a block of land and build a nice house on it for a total cost of $53,000.
    In Five years the house had more than doubled, and in 1992 we sold it for $118,000,
    We then bought another block and built a house for a total cost of $140,000. We had a mortgage back then for $80,000.
    For the next ten years nothing much changed. We had our kids starting school, our cars were always breaking down, lots of bills , I worked 6 days a week and if Sundays were offered I’d work them too. We were pretty much just making ends meat. I can remember reading my first finance book around about then which mentioned the ten rules family’s should never break, and the one that I remember the clearest was don’t buy to big of a house.
    I occasionally started to read more finance stuff, shares, property, investments.