All Topics / Help Needed! / Developer firm: What qualification do i need?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of Cabo WaboCabo Wabo
    Participant
    @cabo-wabo

Hello,[arrowhead]

I’m seeking advice from those of you who are in the development industry, or know something about development firms etc..

This post is quite important to me so please take the time to respond if you can answer my question.

I’m a mining engineer seeking to get out of the mines. 18mths ago i discovered a genuine interest in real estate. I’ve been searching [bike2]for a long time to discover a career i would genuinely enjoy. While i do get a kick out of engineering, the mining industry does have its drawbacks. [sad3] The knowledge that i like RE as much as i do is tremendously valuable for me. Life changing actually. [thumbsup2]

Recently, after much thought, i’ve decided that working for a property developer is the perfect way to blend my past engineering experience (earthmoving, scheduling, budgeting) and my new love [inlove]of real estate. I’m sure i’d realy enjoy it. You gotta be happy doin what you do..

I do fly in fly out, and plan to spend my time off studying at TAFE or wherever, to get a qualification that will see get my foot in the door, on the bottom rung, with a property development firm.

My question is: if you were a property developer, or just know a bit about that side or RE, what would you be looking for in a resume? [dead2] What kind and level courses would you recommend? What qualifications and experience would i need?

All comments sought, and appreciated.

Thanks heaps. [biggrin]

Cabo Wabo

Profile photo of MichaelYardneyMichaelYardney
    Participant
    @michaelyardney

Cabo

Property development is an exciting industry with lots of opportunities. There is of course no school of property development so people come into it from all backgrounds.