All Topics / Help Needed! / Get out of debt first or invest?

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 25 total)
  • Profile photo of maryinozmaryinoz
    @maryinoz

Hi~

I’m new to the property investment arena…but eagerly want to get my feet wet. However, I am not sure how to start….which is always the hardest part I guess.

At the moment, my husband and I have a bit of debt hanging around. Is it best to get rid of the debt completely (or a good chunk of it) first before trying to get into an investment property? We have cut down spending on everything and think we will be able to get rid of most if not all of it within 3 years. We don’t have much in savings or equity and have basically no assets. I’m probably answering my own question here, but would like to hear what others have to say.

Thanks, Mary

Profile photo of toni89toni89
    @toni89

Get out of debt as quickly as you can. Start with the ones that have the highest interest rate and work your way down from there.
    Cheers
    Toni

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

I would tend to prefer the opposite – depending on your exact situation.

Cheers,

Simon Macks
    Residential and Commercial Finance Broker
    [email protected]
    0425 228 985

Comments may not be relevant to individual circumstances. If you intend making any investment, financial or taxation decision you should consult a professional adviser.

Profile photo of maryinozmaryinoz
    @maryinoz
    Originally posted by Mortgage Hunter:

I would tend to prefer the opposite – depending on your exact situation.

Cheers,
    Simon Macks

Hi Simon~