All Topics / Help Needed! / Building a Duplex as Company Title

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of jjazzinijjazzini
    @jjazzini

Hi Guys,
    I’m new to this and have recently purchased a house in the Little bay area which is 664m2 – 24m2 frontage and above the street level good for a duplex, but unfortuntly Randwick council only allows 900m2 for torens tittle, therefor I have been told I can only go with company tittle.
    I have never heard of such thing.
    I have 2 questions;
    Q. With anyones experience Is it advisable for me to go with masterton at $366,000 for 2 story duplex, or shall I go through archeitect design?
    Q. Does anyone know of Good and cheap builders or comapnies which provide a service such as masterton but with alot nicer designs maybe archietect Design.

also;

Can someone explan the techical explanation on COMPANY TITLE!

Thanks guys!
    any response apprieciated ;)

Satcha Jazzini

Profile photo of CeliviaCelivia
    Participant
    @celivia

As far as I can remember since I read about company title a while ago, is that with company title, a company actually holds the land (and building) and you, the purchaser, buys shares in this company.
    I think this means that the company really controls the running of the property, not you. The company may have to approve any decisions you want to make, e.g. when you sell your shares etc. You will just have shareholders rights in this company.

I hope this helps a little- perhaps someone else can explain it better than I could? [blush2]

Celivia

Profile photo of WakeWake
    Participant
    @wake

Did you get the company title info in writing? Perhaps they made a mistake and meant strata title. To my knowledge, no company titles have been registered for many years. Strata is what is normally required if the land is too small for torrens title.

Wake

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter