All Topics / Value Adding / Extracting equity after development

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of DirtCheapDirtCheap
    @dirtcheap

I have a PPOR that is suitable for developing.
    (Retain existing house PPOR and build unit at the back)
    Ideally, I would retain the new unit as an IP.

As I understand it,(please be gentle with me as I am a complete newbie to all this) the sequence is:
    1. Borrow from bank to fund the development
    2. Once development is completed, have bank revalue the IP and borrow 80% LVR

My question is:
    How do I get my hands on the “profit” from this development? ie the difference between what it cost me to build and what the bank will now lend me. I would like to use this money to reduce the loan on my PPOR.

If I sell the IP I will then realise my gain but I want to do this without selling.

Is this possible?
    How do I structure things?
    Tax implications?

Thanks

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

You can only get the profit if you sell. If you have equity and increase the loan, the extra portion could be paid into the home loan part, but this would not result in any tax savings. Tax deductibility is determined by use of the funds borrowed.

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    North Sydney
    [email protected]

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of gafamagafama
    @gafama

Don’t know that I agree with Terryw’s opinion. You don’t need to sell to get the profit out. If you do, yes, you get the cash but you also deplete the profit by the tax.

If you don’t sell but hold the development and unlock the increased equity through borrowing against it, you don’t lose the tax and still have an appreciating asset.